WCS on AWS - Certs and DNS

Rahul Mittal

I'd like to begin with a thanks for this splendid product. I am currently running trial instance on AWS and my organization is very happy with the choice so far.
I understand that we'll need to add an SSL to AWS instance as well as web client for it to properly work without browser warnings.

1. I have added SSL to web client
2. I can buy SSL for AWS instance and install that ok. But I'd like to buy that for wcs.<organization domain> vs ec2-xxx-xxx-xxx-xxx.compute-1.amazonaws.com. And that's where my question lies.
I can configure wcs.<organization-domain> to point to ec2-xxx-xxx-xxx-xxx.compute-1.amazonaws.com using CNAME in our master DNS.
But what changes will I need to do in my WCS installation on AWS, if any?

Apologies if this is a very basic question or more in the domain of AWS vs WCS. I am a relative newbie to both AWS and WCS so some help will be appreciated.

Max

Administrator
Staff member
Hello
You need at least two files
1. cert.pem (or .crt)
2. privkey.pem
If you have certificate files and the private key file you can upload these wiles over WCS dashboard.
Dashboard - Security - Certificates
Of course your DNS A or CNAME record should point to your WCS server.

Here you can see how it looks on our demo server:
We use SSL certificates from Let'sencrypt.
This is files fullchain.pem and privkey.pem

ssl-webrtc.jpg

Rahul Mittal

Thanks @Max.
I have wildcard SSL from GoDaddy, generated using CSR from my Plesk Server. So, I reckon I'll need to make .pem file using Private Key from Plesk. I think I can manage that now thanks to your clarification.

Primary question is regarding the wcs host name.